Compassion, Hope, Love, Prayer.

18 Jan

Tuesday afternoon, January 12th, the worst earthquake in 200 years – 7.0 in magnitude – struck less than ten miles from the Caribbean city of Port-au-Prince, Haiti.  The initial quake was later followed by twelve aftershocks greater than magnitude 5.0. Structures of all kinds were damaged or collapsed, from shantytown homes to national landmarks. It is still very early in the recovery effort, but millions are likely displaced, and thousands are feared dead as rescue teams from all over the world are now descending on Haiti to help where they are able.

Pictures taken 24 hours after the quake http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2010/01/earthquake_in_haiti.html

I nearly cried looking at these pictures, the devastation Haitians are going through seems surreal, and it’s elevating my own personal fears. Coming from an area that’s prone to earthquakes (California), and having lived through the major 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake (6.9 in magnitude), I remember being only 9 years old at my grandmother’s house with my siblings and crying my eyes out because I didn’t know where either of my parents are. I remember the destruction, fallen buildings, freeway overpasses and the top deck of the Bay Bridge collapsing, though the Bay Area recovered, it took years.

The fashion community has come together and organized a sale with all proceeds being donated to the International Red Cross Haiti Relief Fund. Radio Signals put up a skybox on her Scribble sim to host the sale. Theres a ton of stuff up there from poses, skins, skyboxes, hairs, clothing and more, as well as donation boxes for linden donations. I got some friends together to model the shirts by Reek, four different designs on red shirts, a heart symbol, cross symbol, love and hope. If you’ve yet to donate, please look into your hearts and dig deep, remember the lives that are affected and any donation, no matter how little help. The American Red Cross is also accepting donations through their website now.

I want to thank my friends and family.. Paolo, Syngen, Eire and Token for joining me for the photos.  Oh and speaking of Token… big phat love to my cuzzo who’s given me a place to stay so I don’t have to be a homeless fashionista <33

Tupac – Keep Your Head up

Because there’s too many things for you to deal with
Dying inside, but outside you’re looking fearless
While da tears, is rollin down your cheeks
Ya steady hopin things don’t fall down this week

3 Responses to “Compassion, Hope, Love, Prayer.”

  1. Lauren January 18, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    Love the photo

  2. Ashe Anthony January 18, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I love the pictures as well ;o
    And honestly, what happened with Haiti makes me cry.
    I really wish that they can get the help that they need.
    I’ll buy Ls and get some items to help out.

  3. Bubbles Komachi January 19, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    Ashe & Lauren – TY both! And Ashe that’s awesome you’re gonna buy Ls to support the cause! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

