As The Sun Sets…

30 Dec

I can’t believe 2009 is coming to an end, I remember sitting here around the same time last year writing my last thoughts of the year on my old blog. I remember being so hopeful for what this year has to offer. Although I’m not disappointed, but there have definitely been some things I would’ve done without; but isn’t that life after all? I’ve taken the incredible with the bad and I’m not sorry for any of it.

Second Life has brought so much to my life, buy has lost its luster to me lately. I started to think about it and I realized, I missed my NOOB days. When we first start in this game, it’s incredibly fresh, new and full of exciting things we didn’t know was possible in a virtual realm. As we grow older, we become jaded and cynical, we need bigger and better things to keep us entertained. We make fun of noobies because they don’t look the way we do, or act dorky while at clubs or simply just because they bump into our avatars in a laggy sim. The little full-perm freebies no longer scratched that entertainment itch and we suddenly become elitist towards what was allowed to grace our ever bulging inventories. Don’t get me wrong, theres nothing wrong with it.. but for me, I really missed those feelings of being new so I created an alt and started hanging out at INFOHUBS again. I started talking to noobies for the sake of finding out who they are and what brought them here. I made more than a few unlikely friends, have had conversations lasting 4-5 hours and started to explore SL again and my eyes opened to what I’ve missed these last few months.

I still have my friends whom I love to death and along the way, made some incredible new ones, too many to name at this point, but you know who you are. The ones I speak to nearly every day, the ones who’s words grace my Warm Fuzzies page, the ones who keep my smiling and moving forward with new ideas and excitement as each day passes. I can’t imagine how long I’d really stick around had I not had all of you in my life.

I’ve grown so much this year, I let go of a lot of hurt and anger from years passed. Each day, I’ve learned something new about myself. I’ve had my heart broken then put  back together, I lost a friend for a bit just to have him come back and tell me he still loves me. I needed that, I needed my best friend to remind me that a friendship cultivated in a virtual world was as real and tangible as anything we can find in our realities. Thank you for that. In the end, what we all need is LOVE. Love of our family, friends and friends who’ve become family. So THANK YOU … Thank you to my friends who’ve loved me for me…and have let me loved you in return. Whatever lines we toe between virtual and traditional reality, you are as real and loved as anyone in my physical reality. Thank you for the laughs, the jokes, the tears, the talks and the moments that took our breaths away.

TO AN INCREDIBLE 2010.. HAPPY NEW YEARS EVERYONE!!


There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done.
Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung.
Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game
It’s easy.
There’s nothing you can make that can’t be made.
No one you can save that can’t be saved.
Nothing you can do
but you can learn how to be you in time
It’s easy.

8 Responses to “As The Sun Sets…”

  1. Lauren December 30, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Love you too Bubbles darlin

  2. Dr. House Ragu, esq., III December 30, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Happy new year, you big sappy shit! I’m hoping, like everyone else, that 2010 opens whole new doors of opportunity and hope… and that hope of mine continues out to you and your family. ping pang

    • Bubbles Komachi December 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

      House.. you love it when i’m a big sappy shit and YOU KNOW IT!! Happy New Years Monkey! <333

      Lauren.. *snuggles* did i ever tell you how grateful i am to have you as a friend? <333

  3. Ashe Anthony December 30, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Happy New Year^^
    Your words today made me think about how I should consider looking for friends, and how I shouldn’t avoid every “noob” that I come across.

    • Bubbles Komachi December 30, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

      Ashe – Awww Happy New Year mamas! Yah..noobs aren’t so bad, dont get me wrong, some are lol! But every so often, you find the lil diamond in the rough! *Stares @ House Ragu*

  4. Jeff Lowbeam January 2, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    May your New Year hold as much excitement as you can stand. Blessings…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. As The Sun Sets…. « Super Gangster - December 31, 2010

    […] is my third year writing my reflection on the year passed. I went and re-read the first & second year and realized.. this will be the same. I’ve been accused of being overly positive at […]

  2. As The Sun Sets…. | S L O S T [beta .027] - December 31, 2010

    […] is my third year writing my reflection on the year passed. I went and re-read the first & second year and realized.. this will be the same. I’ve been accused of being overly positive at […]

Leave a Reply

