Pink HIJAB Day

28 Oct

TODAY’s OBSESSION:
Sakinah’s Pink Hijab
(wow don’t I look like an Indonesian Muslima?)
ADORE!

 

TODAY’s LOOK:
Supporting a Beautiful Cause

SKIN: Vive9
HEADSCARF: Sakinah – Pink Hijab Day Colorchange Keffiyeh
TANK: Ohmai – Basic Loose Racerback in Pitch
CARDIGAN: Fri.Day – Long Cardi in Cream
VEST: Armidi – Itimo Leather Vest in Pink
JEANS: Twisted & Spoiled – T&S Jeans in Pink
BELT: Pink Outfitter – Kimori Skinny Belt in Black/Silver
SHOES: Kookie – Yuki Sock Supreme Heel in Ink Black
POSE: Fri.Day

 

TODAY’s SONG:
Sarah Brightman – Deliver Me
I chose this song because it just fit with the theme
(and i like it!)
i don’t think it’s neccisarly religious
just.. hopeful 😉

Deliver me, out of my sadness.
Deliver me, from all of the madness.
Deliver me, courage to guide me.
Deliver me, strength from inside me.
All of my life I’ve been in hiding.
Wishing there was someone just like you.
Now that you’re here, now that I’ve found you,
I know that you’re the one to pull me through

 

October 28th, 2009. Today is Global Pink Hijab Day, I became aware of it when my friend Syn of Sakinah made a special pink hijab in honor of today, I’m going to quote Syn on her thoughts about today.

“You’ve probably heard me prattling on and on about it..The day that a buncha crazy Muslim women got together and said “Hey, lets wear pink scarves today to (a) encourage people to ask us questions and shake the stereotypes and (b) raise awareness that Breast Cancer hits us all regardless of faith or culture.”

The message is amazing, Cancer doesnt discriminate based on religion, color, race or sex and it’s so kick ass that she brought this into SL. I’m not Muslim but today, in honor of my friend Syn (the craziest Muslima I know!) and in support for Breast Cancer Awareness, i wore a Pink Hijab, these are available at Syn’s store and i believe all proceeds from the scarf will be donated to the Pink Hijab Day Team of the Susan G. Komen foundation. Go buy it, you’ll get a kick ass headscarf and become a part of an incredible cause.

Leave a Reply

